Tinubu sacks Arase appoints new PSC Chair

President Bola Tinubu has sacked the Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC), Mr Solomon Arase, retired Inspector General of Police.

Presidential spokesman, Ajuri Ngelale said on Monday said in his stead, the President approved the appointment of DIG Hashimu Argungu (Rtd) as the Chairman of the Commission.

The President also approved the appointment of Chief Onyemuche Nnamani as Secretary and DIG Taiwo Lakanu (Rtd) as Member of the Commission.

Similarly, the President has approved the appointment of Mr. Mohammed Sheidu as the Executive Secretary of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund (NPTF) with immediate effect.

Ngelale said the appointment of Nnamani, Sheidu and Argungu who hails from Argungu Local Government Area of Niger State, are subject to confirmation by the Senate.

The appointments are subject to confirmation by the Senate, while other members of the Police Service Commission will be appointed in due course.

The President expects absolute demonstration of integrity, diligence, and patriotic zeal in the discharge of these important functions for the overall wellbeing of the Nigeria Police and the nation, according to the statement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.