500 Directors in Civil service for compulsory retirement

About 500 Directors in the Federal Civil Service have been directed by the federal government to proceed on compulsory retirement.

This followed the tenure limit introduced by the federal government in the Service.

The affected workers are those on salary Grade Level 17 that have spent eight years and above the federal Civil Service across all the Ministries, Departments, Agencies and Parastatals nationwide.

Mariya A. D. Rufai, Director of Administration, Federal Ministry of Finance in a Circular titled, “Implementation of tenure policy and the 2021 Revised Edition of Public Service Rules (PSR), said the directive takes effect from July 27, 2023.

The internal memo reads, “Consequently, all Directors (SGL 17 who have spent Eight years and above on the post are by this internal Circular directed to submit their notice of retirement in line with Section 020909 of the revised Public Service Rules (PSR) effective from the date stated thereof.

Accordingly, all affected Directors are advised to commence the process of documentation with the Administration Department for compulsory retirement by virtue of the section under reference.

“Furthermore, the Directors in question should formally handover to the most senior officers in their respective Departments and surrender all official vehicles (if any) before exiting”, Rufa said.

The internal Circular also advised the affected Civil servants to ” lease bring the contents of this internal Circular to the attention of all concerned for strict compliance”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.