41 Nigerians risk jail term for alleged illegal mining in Kwara

41 Nigerians caught in alleged illegal mining by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission at different locations in Oyo State for economic crime, risk jail term.

12 trucks used in the economic sabotage, were also impounded by EFCC operatives of the Ilorin Zonal Command, which assured that the suspects would be charged to court when investigations are concluded.

EFCC confirmed on its website that the suspects were nabbed on Monday, February 5, 2024 at different types of solid minerals in the State without appropriate licences.

EFCC said the suspects were arrest at Share, Banni, Lade, Patigi and Okolowo in Kwara, and Igbeti and Ogbomosho in Oyo State, following credible intelligence over activities of illegal miners transporting truckloads of assorted minerals outside the State.

The EFCC gave the names of the suspects as Nura Lawan, Tunde Jimoh, Sani Umar, Oyeleke Sunkanmi, Adegboyega Oluwashola, Mohammed Umar, Muhammed Abubakar, Dawud Muideen, Chukwu Okpara Idam, Ganiyu Roqeeb, Umina Umina, Nura Ibrahim, Isiyaku Jibril and Samaila Ibrahim.

Others are Idris Isah, Abdullahi Adamu, Yusuf Auwal, Aminu Usman, Muhammed Musa, Yusuf Ibrahim, Abdullahi Sani, Ishola Mayowa Qudus, Zakariyau Yusuf, Abubakar Dauda, Mohammed A Mohammed, Soliu Mohammed, Sunday Adewale and Adeyemi Michael.

In July 12, 2023, the Command, secured the conviction of a Chinese national, Gang Deng and final forfeiture of two trucks.

The forfeiture includes its mineral contents to the Federal Government, while it arrested 13 Chinese nationals comprising a female and 12 males for offences bordering on illegal mining.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.