UPDATED: Unlike Buhari, Tinubu appoints South easterner as Service Chief

Unlike his predecessor, President Bola Tinubu on Monday appointed E. A Ogalla was elevated as the Chief of Naval Staff, from South Easterner as the nation’s Chief of Naval Staff.

The region had lost out in appointment of Service Chiefs during the eight-year tenure of Muhammadu Buhari, former President of the Country against the letters of the federal character Principle of the Constitution.

Tinubu, sacked Service Chiefs that were appointed by his predecessor, Muhammadu Buhari who transferred power to him on May 29, 2023.

Mr Willie Bassey, the Director of Information on behalf of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume conveyed the names of the appointees and their offices in a statement on Monday.

The Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Mr Alkali Usman, was sacked along with Lucky Irabor, the Chief of Defence Staff, while Faruk Yahaya, retired as the Chief of Army Staff;

The Chief of Naval Staff, Awwal Gambo, and Chief of Air Staff, Isiaka Amao, were also affected in the new shake up of the security arrangements on Monday.

The Nigeria leader sacked Babagana Moguno and replaced him with a former Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Nuhu Ribadu.

Maj. Gen. C.G Musa emerged the Chief of Defence Staff, Maj. T. A Lagbaja who is now the Chief of Army Staff.

Rear Admiral E. A Ogalla from Enugu State, was elevated as the Chief of Naval Staff, AVM H.B Abubakar who is the Chief of Air Staff, while the Deputy Inspector General of Police, DIG Kayode Egbetokun emerged as the acting Inspector-General of Police and Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye is now the Chief of Defense Intelligence.

See also  Tinubu sanctions, replaces heads of agencies in Aviation Ministry

Mr Adeniyi Adewale was named as the Acting Comptroller General of Customs by President Tinubu, pending their confirmation by the National Assembly.

List of appointed Service Chiefs, officers, and their offices are:

1 Mallam Nuhu Ribadu National Security Adviser
2 Maj. Gen. C.G Musa Chief of Defence Staff
3 Maj. T. A Lagbaja Chief of Army Staff
4 Rear Admirral E. A Ogalla Chief of Naval Staff
5 AVM H.B Abubakar Chief of Air Staff
6 DIG Kayode Egbetokun Acting Inspector-General of Police
7 Maj. Gen. EPA Undiandeye Chief of Defense Intelligence

The President also approved the following appointments:

  1. Col. Adebisi Onasanya Brigade of Guards Commander
    2 Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja
    3 Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State
    4 Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger
    5 Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja

Similarly, the President approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows:

1 Maj. Isa Farouk Audu
(N/14695) Commanding Officer State House Artillery
2 Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183) Second-in-Command, State House Artillery
3 Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656) Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence
4 Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860) Commanding Officer, State House Armament
5 Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578) Second-in- Command, State House Armament

Tinubu also approved the appointments of two (2) additional Special Advisers, and two (2) Senior Assistants, namely:

  1. Hadiza Bala Usman Special Adviser, Policy Coordination
    2 Hannatu Musa Musawa Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy
    3 Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel Senior Special Assistant , National Assembly Matters (Senate)
    4 Hon. (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives.
See also  CBN obeys Supreme court, says old naira notes remain legal tender

TheNewspad reports that the appointments Service Chiefs are appear before the 10th National Assembly for screening soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.