FG approves houses for families of slain soldiers

President Bola Tinubu has approved housing Units in any part of Nigeria for families of late four officers and 13 soldiers, killed in Okuoma Community in Ughelli South Local government Area of Delta State.

The personnel were attached to the 181 Amphibious Batallion
of 63 Brigade, Nigerian Army were on a peace mission on March 14, 2024 when they were ambushed and killed by irate youths involved in a fight with Okolo Community.

President Tinubu made the pledge on Wednesday March 27, 2024 at a brief Ceremony in honour of the departed heroes at the Nigerian Army Cemetery, Abuja.

He also announced scholarships for Children of the deceased, including those in the wombs from Basic to the University levels.

The President who expressed grief over the murder of the military personnel, ordered immediate payment of the gratuities of the fallen heroes by the Nigerian Army.

The President, assured that the federal government will give justice to the slain personnel, emphasizing that their killers will not go unpunished.

President Tinubu thereafter announced a post humous award of
Member of the Order of the Niger(MON) for the four military officers, whole the soldiers got
Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) for their remarkable life of service.

He also lauded the military for not embarking on a reprisal attacks irrespective of the height of provocation and called on traditional leaders in Okuoma Community to assist security agencies to fish out killers of the personnel.

He urged the military and other security agencies not to be deterred by the grief and hailed the Nigerian military for defending the territorial integrity of Nigeria and for decimating violent criminals and terrorists.

According to him, “I do not take the contributions of the members of the Armed Forces for granted”, in their desire to secure the nation from the grips of criminals.

Some heads of military agencies in Nigeria delivered goodwill messages at the solemn event which was attended by over six Governors and other personalities.



– Maj SD Shafa (N/13976)

– Maj DE Obi (N/14395)

– Capt U Zakari (N/16348)

– Staff Sgt Yahaya Saidu (#3NA/36/2974)

– Cpl Yahaya Danbaba (1ONA/65/7274).

–LCpl Bulus Haruna (16NA/TS/5844)

– LCpl Sole Opeyemi (17NA/760719)

– LCpl Bello Anas (17NA/76/290)

–LCpl Hamman Peter (NA/T82653).

–LCpl Ibrahim Abdullahi (18NA/77/1191)

– Pte Alhaji Isah (17NA/76/6079)

– Pte Clement Francis (19NA/78/0911)

– Pte Abubakar Ali (19NA/78/2162)

– Pte Ibrahim Adamu (19NA/78/6079).

– Pte Adamu Ibrahim (21NA/80/4795).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.