Edo Assembly speaker distances self as Obaseki upturns AAU lecturers’ sack

The speaker of Edo State house of Assembly, Hon. Marcus Onobun on Tuesday, confirmed the purported sack of some lecturers by the Management of the institution on orders of Special Intervention Team (SIT).


But, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State, on Tuesday evening, disclaimed all disengagement letters issued in the last couple of weeks to workers in Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, insisting that they are illegal, null and void.

The Governor through a statement by his spokesman, Mr Crusoe Osagie said the State government assures that it upholds the interest of the university workers and would continue to position the state as a suitable place to live and work.

Earlier, Onobun, Peoples Democratic party (PDP) Candidate in the rerun election for Esan West and Esan Central federal Constituency said this in a statement where he distanced himself from the happenings in the school, ahead of next Saturday March 18th state house of Assembly election.

He however admitted that the house of Assembly had backed the Special Intervention Team (SIT) to carry out the needed reforms in the tertiary institution to pave the way for the appointment of a Governing board for the institution.

Onobun, blamed the disaffection between staff of the state-owned University and the Board on external influence to discredit the measures taken by government in repositioning the ivory tower.

According to the him, “The Edo state House of Assembly has and is dissociating itself from Happenings at the Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma and calls on all to remain calm while efforts are being made to resolve the situation for the betterment of the institution”, Onobun said.

The Speaker also called on the electorate in his Constituency not yet bulge over the antics of fifth Columnists walking to distract him from making of enabling laws for good governance and welfare of the Citizenry.

TheNewslad reports that no fewer than 22 lecturers in Ambrose Alli University, were asked to proceed on compulsory retirement by the Management of the school.

The affected AAU lecturers include, Prof. Okoeguale E., Prof. Okogun G.R.A and Prof. Esun F.I as well as Prof. Omoifoh C.

Others are Prof. Omoregie A. U., Prof. Ighalo S.O, Dr. Omohan M. E, Prof. Eguavoen A.N.T, Ms. Ese Ebunuwele, Dr. Jude Obasami, Prof. Izibili Matthew, Dr. Oamen David, and Mr. Eregese Emmanuel alongside Dr. Fumi Olumese.

Also listed include Prof. Odiagbe O. S., Prof. Aluede Raymond, Prof. Aluede Oyaziwo, Prof. Aluede Charles, Prof. Okonigene R. E. And Prof. Agbeboh G. U, alongside Igbafen Monday, immediate past chairman of Academic staff Union of Universities (AAU),Chapter and Prof. Eunice Omonzejie.

The letters of disengagement of the lecturers who were immediately shoved aside, was signed by Mr Ambrose Odiase, acting Registrar, AAU and dated 10th March 2023,however did not disclose the reasons for the action.

Shortly before February 23rd 2023 Presidential and National Assembly elections, governor Godwin Obaseki through a statement signed by the Secretary to Edo State government, lifted the embargo placed on the suspension of all Union activities across the state-owned tertiary institutions.

Investigation revealed that the punitive measure against the affected lecturers for resisting plans by the government through the SIT to emasculate the various unions in the institution and erode its autonomy as it concerns workers welfare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.