2023: APC elders urge Osinbajo, Tinubu, others to shun ‘personal attacks’

2023: APC elders urge Osinbajo, Tinubu, others to shun ‘personal attacks’


A meeting of elders in the All Progressives Congress (APC), South West zone held on Friday night in Lagos State.

The elders led by Chief Bisi Akande, APC former national Chairman, cautioned the presidential, gubernatorial and National Assembly aspirants from the zone to personal attacks.

They also resolved that all APC aspirant have a right to contest the forthcoming 2023 general election.

Akande told newsmen at the meeting that held behind closed doors, that South-West presidential aspirants of the party, governors and other leaders are united.

Addressing journalists at the end of a meeting with presidential aspirants from the zone on Friday night in Lagos, Mr Akande, however, urged party stalwarts and aspirants “to talk to themselves and the public with absolute decorum”.

The former governor of Osun said the South-west APC leaders were united and will work to ensure that the 2023 presidency comes to the region.

“We are united as we will ensure that the presidency of the Federal Republic of Nigeria will come to the South-West.

“We had a fruitful discussion. We also resolved that everybody should maintain absolute decorum because we are united,” Mr Akande said.

The big-wigs of the ruling party met at the Lagos House in Marina. The meeting was convened by Mr Akande and Olusegun Osoba, a former Ogun governor.

ALSO READ:  Akpabio disowns professor jailed for rigging election in his favour

Those present at the meeting included Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, Bola Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State; Ibikunle Amosun and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Governors of Lagos, Osun, Ogun, Ondo and Ekiti Messrs Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Gboyega Oyetola, Dapo Abiodun, Rotimi Akeredolu and Kayode Fayemi were also present.

Also present at the meeting were the Ministers of Works and Housing, Trade and Industry and Investment, and Interior, Messrs Babatunde Fashola, Adeniyi Adebayo and Rauf Aregbesola respectively.

Other APC leaders at the meeting were Gbenga Daniel, former governor of Ogun; Iyiola Omisore, APC National Secretary; Moses Adeyemo, former Deputy Governor of Oyo and Pius Akinyelure, former National Vice Chairman of APC, South-West Zone among others.

NAN also recall that APC had announced May 30 to June 1 as dates for its presidential primaries.


Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Latest Posts

Top Authors

Most Commented

Featured Videos

ALSO READ:  9th NASS: Dogara joins Speakership race, says I’ll repeat 2015 victory
get_footer(); ?>