Nigerians barred from visiting EU Countries over high Covid-19 cases

Nigerians barred from visiting EU Countries over high Covid-19 cases


Intending Nigeria travellers to the European Union territory beginning from Wednesday may have to shelve their trips over the spike in Covid-19 cases in the Country which had opened its borders.


Africa’s most populous nation was exempted from a compromise Draft List of fifty-four Countries drawn up by the European Commission, whose Citizens can now come into the European Union’s external borders.

Rwanda, Angola, Morocco and Uganda are among the eleven African Countries that however made the entry List.

According to a statement posted on Schengenvisainfo, EU officials, the no-entry to Nigerian Citizens has revealed.

The statement added that the EU has also confirmed that Citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the United States and Russia will only be able to enter the European Union when the epidemiology situation in those Countries improve.

EU Commission spokesman, Eric Mamer had last Thursday, said that the European Union has an internal process to determine from which Countries it would be safe to accept travellers,” adding that its decisions are “based on health criteria”.

ALSO READ:  Why Buhari rejected call to sack Service Chiefs — SGF

Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Latest Posts

Top Authors

Most Commented

Featured Videos

ALSO READ:  US Embassy visa hike sparks reactions among Nigerians