10 ex-governors, 47 others make Senate list of Constitution review

10 ex-governors, 47 others make Senate list of Constitution review


10 former governors in the Nigerian Senate and 47 other members of the Upper have been shortlisted among the 56-man Steering and Constitution Review Committee.


The governors are Theordore Orji, Abia; Gabriel Suswam, Benue; Samuel Egwu, Ebonyi; Mohammed Danjuma Goje, Gombe; And Aliyus Okorocha, Imo.

Also included are Ibikunle Amosun, Ogun; Aliyu Wamakko, Sokoto; Ibrahim Geidam, Yobe;
And Ibrahim Shekarau, North-west; Kashim Shettima who are among the representatives of the Geo-political zones.

Mr Ezrel Tabiowo, Special Assistant (Press) to President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan who disclosed this in a statement after the start of Thursday’s plenary, gave the names of the Principal Officers as include: the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege (Chairman); Senate Leader, Yahaya Abdullahi; Deputy Leader and Ajayi Boroffice.

Also norminated are the Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe; Deputy Whip, Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi; Deputy Minority Leader, Emmanuel Bwacha; Minority Whip, Philip Aduda; and Deputy Minority Whip, Sahabi Alhaji Ya’u.

The statement adds that the Committee has all principal officers as members; one Senator from each State of the Federation, and two Senators selected to represent each geo-political zone in the Country.

Other Lawmakers selected to represent each State include: Aishat Ahmed, Adamawa; Bassey Akpan, Akwa-Ibom; Stella Oduah, Anambra; Haliru Jika Dauda, Bauchi; Biobarukuma Deji-Eremenyo, Bayelsa; Abubakar Kyari, Borno; Gershom Bassey, Cross River; James Manager, Delta; Matthew Urhoghide, Edo; Opeyemi Bamidele, Ekiti and Ike Ekweremadu, Enugu.

ALSO READ:  CUPP sues Buhari over tenure of Service Chiefs

Others are: Sabo Mohammed, Jigawa; Uba Sani, Kaduna; Kabiru Gaya, Kano; Baba Ahmed Kaita, Katsina; Mohammed Adamu Aliero, Kebbi; Smart Adeyemi, Kogi; Suleiman Sadiq Umar, Kwara; Oluremi Tinubu, Lagos; Abdullahi Adamu, Nasarawa; Mohammed Sani Musa, Niger; Nicholas Olubukola, Ondo; Surajudeen Ajibola, Osun; Teslim Folarin, Oyo; Hezekiah Ayuba, Plateau; George Thompson Sekibo, Rivers; Yusuf A. Yusuf, Taraba; and Mohammed Hassan, Zamfara.

Representatives of Geo-political zones are: Bala Ibn Na’Allah and Lawal Yahaya, North-East and Yakubu Oseni, North-Central; Abdulfatai Buhari and Biodun Olujimi, South-West; Lilian Uche Ekwunife and Chukwuka Utazi, South-East; Rose Oko and Akon Eyakenyi, South-South.

The Senate President, in his remarks, said, “I want to use this opportunity to advise the committee that you represent the Senate and the entire National Assembly, even though the House will also constitute its own Constitution Review Committee.

“Of course, Distinguished Senators who are not members can still participate by giving any submission, and any advice they feel strongly about for this committee to succeed.

“As for the activities of the committee, you will engage not only members of the National Assembly, and other statutory bodies like the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Civil Society groups, but Nigerians are interested in the way and manner we do our duties here.”

ALSO READ:  Gunmen gun down Katsina Commissioner

“Nigerians definitely have interest in the Constitution Review that the National Assembly will embark upon. There are several issues that Nigerians feel strongly about.

“The Constitution Review Committee is supposed to be a platform where such issues will be brought, and where those who are interested should ensure that they make every possible effort, including presentations for their views to be considered.

“As a National Assembly, particularly the Senate, we want to have a very stable Country. We want a Country that gives every citizen the opportunity to actualize his or her dream. We want to have a security that is enhanced and an economy that works for everyone.

“Stability of the polity is important, we need to have a country before we run for elections, or indeed undertake any activity. So, we advise that any organization or individual who has anything that should be taken on by the Committee should make submissions to the Constitution Review Committee,” Mr Lawan said.

 12 total views


Posts Carousel

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Latest Posts

Top Authors

Most Commented

Featured Videos


 11 total views

ALSO READ:  Gunmen gun down Katsina Commissioner
get_footer(); ?>